Residents must complete drivers ed in Indiana if they wish to obtain a learner permit at 15 years of age. When completing a driver safety course, students must also complete behind-the-wheel training through the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). After completing driving lessons and obtaining a learner permit, motorists may apply for a probationary license once they are 16 years and 90 days old. If residents do not complete drivers education, however, then they must wait until they are at least 16 years of age to apply for a learner permit. Without attending first time driving school, motorists must then wait until they are 16 years and 270 days old before they may apply for a probationary driver license. In addition to these driver ed requirements, all new motorists must obtain at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice before they may apply for a driving license. To learn more about the benefits of taking driving classes in Indiana, review the information below.
Do I need to complete drivers ed in Indiana?
Indiana drivers education is not a requirement as part of the learner permit or first-time driving license application process. However, residents who complete a driving course may apply for a learner permit at 15 years of age. If residents do not complete a driving safety course, then they must wait until they are 16 years of age before they may apply for a learners permit. Additionally, completing a driver education program gives new motorists the opportunity to obtain a probationary driving license even earlier. After completing driver’s ed in Indiana, residents may apply for a driving license once they turn 16 years and 90 days old. Otherwise, motorists must wait until they are 16 years and 270 days old to apply for a driver license.
What does Indiana drivers education include?
First time driving school in Indiana consists of 30 classroom hours, six hours of behind-the-wheel training and at least 50 hours of additional supervised driver practice. When attending teen driving school, students learn important information about local traffic laws and regulations to help them pass their learner’s permit knowledge exam and future driver licensing tests. In addition to completing driver lessons, students need to obtain at least 10 hours of nighttime driving practice. Furthermore, students may complete an online driving course as a convenient alternative to attending classroom training. However, students who complete a driving course online must still enroll in on-site practical observation through a BMV-approved training school.
Indiana Teen Driving School Benefits
While Indiana driving lessons are not a requirement, there are many benefits to completing an approved program. Not only does drivers education give motorists the opportunity to apply for a driving permit at 15 years of age, but a teen driving course in Indiana teaches residents important information about operating a motor vehicle safely and responsibly on state roads. Additionally, teen driving courses often include a skills exam at the end of the program, as long as the training school participates in the BMV’s waiver program. After completing the driver safety course, students who receive a passing score of 80 percent or higher may take their road skills exam as part of their course curriculum. If students complete a driver education road skills examination, then they do not need to take a driving test through the BMV. Furthermore, online driving courses are available in the state of Indiana, which gives students the opportunity to complete a training program at their own pace. However, students who take a driver ed course online still need to complete and pass an on-site behind-the-wheel program.
Indiana Drivers Education Eligibility Requirements
To enroll in a teen driving course, residents must be at least 15 years of age. Residents cannot complete IN driving lessons or participate in practical training unless they are at least 15 years of age. Additionally, first time driver school applicants must provide proof of their identity, U.S. citizenship status, Social Security Number and state residency. After enrolling in driving classes, students cannot begin to operate a motor vehicle until they obtain a learning permit. After obtaining a learners permit, residents may only operate a motor vehicle under the supervision of a licensed motorist, driving instructor or driver rehabilitation specialist.
Indiana First Time Driving School Enrollment
The IN drivers education enrollment process varies slightly depending on whether students wish to complete a course in person or online. To enroll in an on-site driving education program, applicants must contact the BMV-approved facility directly. As such, residents can obtain a list of teen driving schools under the BMV’s website. To enroll in an online driver ed course, however, applicants must complete an approved program before enrolling in behind-the-wheel training. Before signing up for driving practice observation, however, it is important to contact the training facility directly to verify that it accepts online education programs. If not, then applicants must complete their practical observation through a school that does accept online training programs.
How can I get my permit after completing an Indiana driving safety course?
After completing Indiana DMV lessons, motorists may apply for a learner permit. Alternately, minors who do not take a driving course may apply for a learner’s permit once they turn 16 years of age. If applicants do complete a driver education program, then they must provide the BMV with a certificate of completion as part of the application process. Whether minors complete drivers ed or not, their parents or legal guardians must provide the BMV with the following:
- Proof of identity
- Proof of lawful status
- Evidence of a Social Security Number
- Two proofs of state residency or an Indiana Residency Affidavit
- Proof of financial liability
If motorists do not take a teen driver course in Indiana, then they may apply for a learning permit once they turn 16. After holding a learners permit for 180 days, motorists may apply for a probationary driver license. Furthermore, motorists must submit proof of completing a driving education program when they apply for a probationary license (if applicable) and a completed Log of Supervised Driving Practice form.